About Us

The Manitoba Association of Crown Attorneys was established in 1974 to advance the interests of Crown Attorneys employed by the Government of Manitoba in the Department of Justice.

As set out in the MACA Constitution, the objects of MACA are:

(a) to promote improvement of the conditions of employment of its members;
(b) to represent its members in respect of salaries, pensions, hours of work, other working conditions, and any other matters relating to the relationship between its members and their employer;
(c) to establish a collective bargaining relationship with the employer of its members;
(d) to further good fellowship amongst its members;
(e) to promote and encourage the professional development of its members; and
(f) to do all things that are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objects.

MACA is comprised of over 160 lawyers employed in six Branches of Manitoba Justice: Manitoba Prosecutions Service; Civil Legal Services; Constitutional Law Branch; Family Law Branch; Office of Legislative Counsel; Office of the Public Trustee.

MACA has served as bargaining agent under The Labour Relations Act for Manitoba Crown Attorneys since 1976.

Executive Board

Activities of MACA are managed by an eight-member Executive Board
President –  Cindy Sholdice
Vice-President (Prosecutions) – Keith Eyrikson 
Vice-President (Civil Law) – Denis Guénette
Vice-President (Regional Offices) – Larry Hodgson
Secretary – Eli Goldenberg
Treasurer – Mark Lafrenière
At Large Member (Prosecutions) – Erika Dolcetti
At Large Member (Civil Law) – Stewart Pierce